Dr. Pan HUI Elected as Member of Academia Europaea

CSE faculty member, Dr. Pan HUI has been recently elected as a member of Academia Europaea (the Academy of Europe) in 2019 for his contributions in the research field of informatics.

Dr. Hui is currently on leave from HKUST and serves as the Nokia Chair Professor in Data Science and Full Professor of Computer Science at the University of Helsinki. He received his PhD degree from Computer Laboratory, University of Cambridge, and earned his MPhil and BEng both from the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, University of Hong Kong.

Dr. Hui has published more than 250 research papers with over 16,000 citations and has 30 granted/filed European and US patents. He has founded and chaired several IEEE/ACM conferences/workshops, and served in various roles such as track chair, senior program committee member, organising committee member, and program committee member of numerous top conferences including ACM WWW, ACM SIGCOMM, ACM MobiSys, ACM MobiCom, ACM CoNext, IEEE Infocom, IEEE ICNP, IEEE ICDCS, IJCAI, AAAI, and ICWSM. He is an Associate Editor for IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing (since 2014) and the Springer journal of Computational Social Networks. He has also served as Associate Editor for IEEE Transactions on Cloud Computing (2014 - 2018) and guest editor for various journals including IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications (JSAC), IEEE Transactions on Secure and Dependable Computing, IEEE Communications Magazine, and ACM Transactions on Multimedia Computing, Communications, and Applications. He is an ACM Distinguished Scientist and an IEEE Fellow.

The Academia Europaea is a functioning European Academy of Humanities, Letters and Sciences, composed of individual members. Membership of the Academia Europaea (MAE) is an award conferred by the Academia Europaea to individuals that have demonstrated "sustained academic excellence". Membership is by invitation only by existing MAE and judged by peer review selection process. Members are entitled to use the post-nominal letters MAE. Election to the Academia is widely considered to be one of the highest honors that a European scientist or scholar may receive. An MAE is an Academician of the Academy of Europe. Its current members include 73 Nobel Laureates, 6 Abel Prize Awardees, 15 Fields Medalists, 7 Gödel Prize Winners, 6 Turing Award Winners, and 43 Wolf Prize Awardees. For example, Prof Sir Christopher Pissarides, HKUST IAS Helmut & Anna Pao Sohmen Professor-at-Large, is a member of Academia Europaea.

Congratulations to Dr. Hui!

Related Link(s):